Community Development

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Community Development Department encompasses the Planning, Building and Code Enforcement Divisions.

Planning Division

The Planning Department provides technical assistance and professional guidance to the City Council, Planning Commission, Architecture & Landscape Committee and the public regarding policies and plans that guide the physical development of the community. This department processes land use applications and reviews projects for consistency with the City's General Plan, Zoning Ordinance and State laws relative to land use and Redevelopment Law. .

Building Division

The Building Department administers and enforces the California Building Code and all City ordinances regulating construction activity. This department is responsible for issuance of building permits, collection of permit and inspection fees, review and approval of construction plans and providing building site inspections. .

Code Enforcement Division

The Code Enforcement Department ensures compliance with all the City's municipal codes and ordinances. The duty of this department is to protect life, safety and property through enforcement of City codes and standards achieved through staff investigation and follow up of citizen's complaints or City initiated abatement actions. .


Contact

Jon Berg, Community Development Director
jberg@indianwells.com

Planning - (760) 776-0229

Luis Rubalcava, Assistant Planner
lrubalcava@indianwells.com

Sonia Hapner, Senior Administrative Assistant
shapner@indianwells.com

Building - (760) 776-0230

Craig Degroot, CBO, Building Official & Code Enforcement Manager
cdegroot@indianwells.com

Tana Batiste, Permit Technician II
tbatiste@indianwells.com

Code Enforcement - (760) 346-2489

Wes Remaklus, Code Enforcement Officer/Building Inspector II
wremaklus@indianwells.com