Building Department

The Building Department is responsible for administering and enforcing the California Building Codes and City Ordinances regulating construction activity. This involves the issuance of building permits, collection of fees, review and approval of construction plans, and providing building site inspections. In addition, the Department investigates complaints and conducts abatement for violations of the Citys housing and construction codes. The Department also reviews codes and provides customers with interpretations and directions on how to meet the Building Code requirements. The Department also ensures processing through other outside agencies for review and permitting, such as the Riverside County Fire Department, Coachella Valley Water District, utility providers, County Health Department, etc.

The Building Department is also responsible for enforcing State-mandated requirements such as handicap accessibility and energy conservation regulations.

To schedule all building inspections please call the Building Department Inspection Hotline at (760) 834-7790. Counter hours are Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 12 p.m and 1 p.m. - 5 p.m. excluding Holidays. All other inquires please call (760) 776-0230.

June Monthly Issued Permits Report

May Monthly Issued Permits Report

April Monthly Issued Permits Report

Complete plan submittals greatly assist the City of Indian Wells in providing efficient approvals and permitting. Please utilize the following standard correction listings to ensure that high quality plans are submitted to the City. These standard correction lists are used by City plan consultants to review compliance with current Building Codes.

Construction Without Permits

Building Permit Requirements 

Vertical Construction General Submittal Checklist 

Building Permit Application
Frequently Asked Questions 

Residential Standard Correction List
Commercial Standard Correction List 

Residential Plan Requirements 

Residential Solar PV System Submittal Requirements
Masonry Block Standards

Building Records Request Form 

Geotechnical Policy 

Requirements for Fire Pits, Fireplace and BBQ

BBQ Separation to Structure Detail

Special Notice - Carbon Monoxide Alarms

Senate Bill 183 (full text here) requires carbon monoxide (CO) alarms in nearly all dwelling units. For additional information, see this FAQ document by the California State Fire Marshal.

Verify State Licensing

Click on the appropriate license type below. All of the below listed require a license from the State of California.

Landscape Architects
Structural Pest Control Companies 

Building Department Contacts

Community Development Director / Building Official
Building Inspector II

Building Inspector II

Building Technician II