Sorry, this page has moved!
Please click here to go to the new location.

Building Division

    

                             

Building - Counter Hours 

Counter hours are Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 12 p.m
and 1 p.m. - 5 p.m. excluding Holidays.

inspections

Building Inspections - To schedule all building inspections, please call the Building Department Inspection Hotline at (760) 834-7790 by 4 p.m. for a next business day inspection.

County Fire Inspections -
To schedule all fire inspections, please call (760) 346-1870.

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Expedited Solar Permit Process

Residential Solar PV System Submittal Requirements

Masonry Block wall standards

Freestanding Block Wall
Masonry Pilaster
Retaining/Block Wall Combination
Retaining Walls

Forms and Handouts

Building Permit Application
Building Permit Requirements
Construction Without Permits
Geotechnical Policy
Public Records Request Form
Recycling Form - Coming Soon
Residential Plan Requirements
Requirements for Fire Pits, Fireplaces and BBQs
Vertical Construction General Submittal Checklist 

Useful Links

California Energy Commission

New Legislative Requirements

Senate Bill 183 (full text here) requires carbon monoxide (CO) alarms in nearly all dwelling units. For additional information, see this FAQ document by the California State Fire Marshal.
Senate Bill 407 (full text here)

Verify State Licensing

Click on the appropriate license type below. All of the below listed require a license from the State of California.

Architects 
Engineers/Surveyors
Contractors
Landscape Architects
Structural Pest Control Companies 

Building Reports

July Monthly Issued Permits Report
June Monthly Issued Permits Report
May Monthly Issued Permits Report
April Monthly Issued Permits Report

Building Division Contacts

Building Inspection Hotline: (760) 834-7790
County Fire Inspection: (760) 346-1870
Department's Direct Line: (760) 776-0230


Community Development Director / Building Official, Warren Morelion
wmorelion@indianwells.com

Building Inspector II, Craig Degroot
cdegroot@indianwells.com

Building Inspector II / Code Enforcement Officer, Bruce Pelletier
bpelletier@indianwells.com

Building Technician II, Tana Batiste
tbatiste@indianwells.com

County Fire Contacts

County Fire Marshall, James Frater
james.frater@fire.ca.gov

Deputy Fire Marshall, Sonia Cooley
sonia.cooley@fire.ca.gov

Fire Safety Specialist, James Aldrich
james.aldrich@fire.ca.gov