Historic Preservation Society


All across America, people are expressing concern that history is vanishing. The mission of the Indian Wells Historic Preservation Foundation -- a 501(c)(3) charitable organization -- is to prevent that from happening in our community. The organization's goal is to designate, preserve, and maintain historical sites and memorabilia in Indian Wells for the benefit and enjoyment of future generations.

Formed in December 2001, and incorporated in March 2002, the Foundation collects, preserves, catalogs and maintains data pertinent to the sites and memorabilia. Meetings are held the first Tuesday of each month at 2 p.m. at City Hall.

To help preserve Indian Wells' history, and/or to donate Indian Wells memorabilia, call Adele Ruxton at (760) 346-8420. Membership is $40 per household, payable to: Indian Wells Historic Preservation Foundation, 74-923 Highway 111, PMB 129, Indian Wells, CA 92210.

Board Members are:

  • Adele Ruxton- President
  • Bud Schaffer - Vice President
  • Sharon Devine- Secretary
  • Elaine White- Treasurer
  • Barbara De Vito
  • Ruth Finholt
  • Meredith Asher
  • Suzy Neiman
  • Louise Wolf
  • Jan Holmlund - Advisory Committee Chair
  • Ann Japenga
  • Dick Oliphant  
  • Laurel Wright
  • Mary T. Roche - Indian Wells City Council Liaison